Skip to main content

Which countries are affected by yellow fever?

Page last updated 10 July 2018

Yellow fever occurs in 47 countries the tropical and subtropical regions of Africa (34 countries) and Central and South America (13 countries).

Because there is a risk of travellers bringing yellow fever back from these countries to others such as Australia where it does not occur, many countries (including Australia) require proof of vaccination upon entry into the country.


View the travel map

Launch interactive map

Sources & Citations

  1. World Health Organisation (WHO). Yellow Fever Fact Sheet, March 2018. Available at: (accessed 16 April 2018)

SPANZ.STAMA.18.05.0185a - Date of preparation May 2018